Follow me:


 Journey Into Breath


 From the moment of conception we are being rhythmically rocked by the breath of our mother. We are nestled into this safe, dark and watery realm with every cell being nourished. We take our first breath 30 seconds after delivery. It’s the biggest breath of our life.

We are arriving into the world and the world arrives in us.

We breathe with freedom in the innocence of our youth. As we age we begin to rub up against life’s challenges, protecting ourselves by constricting our breath. When we unconsciously restrict the breath we have taken ourselves out of the flow of life.

When we hold or restrict the breath we are really trying to control our experiences rather than being present with “what is”.

Each class in this 5 week series we will practice various forms of breath awareness. The mechanics of these practices are relatively easy as you become the observer of your own relaxed nervous system. Also included in this series is a system of stretching various parts of the physical body that will enhance your breathing.

Nature made the breath as a sort of doorway and we can enter into our own selves through this door.

This class is suitable for all humans. Please arrive 10-15 minutes early to check in and get settled. Bring a yoga mat. All accessories will be provided. Dress in layers. 

Starrett Artist Studio

Main Street


Monday November 13, 20, 27

December 11 & 18

10-11:15 am

$75 for the series payable cash or check on November 13

$15 for a single class but participating in the entire series is highly encouraged


Yoga: The Eight Limbed Path

tree-in-winterIt’s winter and the leaves have now fallen from the trees. What a wonderful time of year to draw our attention inward. This is a time of hibernation and being quiet. It’s a time of learning and growing.

In Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra, the eightfold path is called ashtanga, which literally means “eight limbs” (ashta=eight, anga=limb). These eight steps basically act as guidelines on how to live a meaningful and purposeful life. They serve as a prescription for moral and ethical conduct and self-discipline; they direct attention toward one’s health; and they help us to acknowledge the spiritual aspects of our nature. The eight limbs include the Yamas (ethical standards), Niyamas (self-discipline), Asana (yoga postures), Pranayama (breath control), Pratyahara (sense withdrawal), Dharana (concentration), Dhyana (uninterrupted flow of concentration) and Samadhi (state of ecstasy)

November 13: A Yin practice touching on all 8 limbs

November 20: What does it mean to live a life embracing Nonviolence and Truth?

November 27: Contentment – the second Niyama. How often do you feel contentment in your yoga practice and in your daily life?

December 4: Svadyaya – self study in asana. And what does it mean to feel triggered?

December 11: Asana and Pranayama: Which comes first and why?

December 18: Restorative Yoga and Pratyahara – Sense withdrawal during the busy and dark holiday season.



Buy Now Button